Photographers: Why you should stick to your guns

I remember struggling with personal style vs job viability when my career in photography began so I wanted to share the following:

Every photographer inherently develops his or her style from practice, study and personal vision. When we join this ultra competitive workforce (I live in NYC, which is crazy competitive), some of us find it difficult to compromise how we photograph for clients and the kind of work we can get if we conform a tad. A couple of things I’ve learned about this approach:

  1. It’s already competitive. You may as well stick to the style you do best and work at it until you get the clients who best suit you. Your style is what makes your work special. A client who understands and appreciates your vision will stick with you for a long time.
  2. There’s nothing worse than doing a job you can’t identify with and deliver a product that looks lackluster. We’re artists first and business folk second — neither of these should be neglected. If you’re not feeling a gig and your photos come out meh then you’re probably not working on the right project. You should save your time and their money. Can you imagine Henri Cartier Bresson as a wedding photographer? All projects aren’t for all photographers so aim yourself toward the shoots you want to do. You’ll feel better about yourself.

I was just thinking this morning that I would have loved this info when I first started. I’m glad to have  learned this lesson as I have been able to work on projects that are more satisfying than the ones I did in the beginning of my career.

Summary: Work hard on the projects you would love to do and every one will be happy.

I don’t usually have advice to share but what the hell. If you’d like to see more of my work, just head over to this LINK.

Watcha think? I’d genuinely love to hear everyone’s experience with this.

This project for Olga Sorokina of IRFE, Paris was such a perfect fit for my style that it felt effortless, stimulating and creative. We have developed a working relationship and continue to stay in touch from either side of the Ocean.

This project for Olga Sorokina of IRFE, Paris was such a perfect fit for my style that it felt effortless, stimulating and creative. We have developed a working relationship and continue to stay in touch from either side of the Ocean.

Leave a Reply

