Portrait of My Friend

It was last week, July 26th, my birthday, when my friend met me at a favorite Lower East Side haunt called Iggy’s. The weather looked grim and we felt the cloud of exhaustion hovering over us while suds of beer popped in our bellies. Later that night, we were privy to an awesome display of Mother Nature when she came pouring upon New York the most torrential rain storm I’d seen in a while. It was difficult to ignore the nagging thought about how small we are in comparison to Earth’s meteorological whims. We could all be swept away in an instant. For the moment, however it was just another rain storm on a ceaseless summer day.

I took this photo of my friend before the storm.

Iggy’s
New York City
July 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

