Photos from Yellow Springs, Ohio

I went picture crazy in Yellow Springs, Ohio. It’s a small liberal-artsy kind of town about 40 minutes outside of Dayton. For some reason, I went more shutter mad here than in New Orleans (my favorite city in the Universe). Photos are from a recent holiday trip to see my mom who has had to brave the Northern winters after so many years in the South.

The portraits were made with the on-camera flash, which produced undesired highlights, glare and shadows but then again, I didn’t intend on bringing a soft box, light stands and strobes everywhere I went.

Most shots were taken with a 50mm 1.4G lens, which is quickly becoming my favorite (and least expensive) tool.

 

One response

  1. Pingback: A Family of Old Hearses « Carlos Detres Photography

Leave a Reply

