The Suburbs: Beavercreek, Ohio

There’s something strangely apocalyptic about the suburbs. To me, they used to seem like wasteland colonies designated for the purpose of serving malls and schools. It would be remiss if I didn’t mention the great memories I had when I was a kid growing up in these kind of neighborhoods, which is where the contradiction is revealed.

Here are some pictures from Beavercreek, Ohio — a burb of Dayton, Ohio close to an airforce base.

(ignore the 2010 watermark. it’s not on the original exported jpgs and I can’t figure out what kind of freaky thing is going on. i don’t have my original lightroom catalog with me on this trip. eff.)

4 responses

  1. Some of these are really interesting! I really like the first one with the bike it’s very eerie and spooky. These absolutely remind me of home.

    !!!

    March 21, 2011 at 1:36 pm

  2. Elisa Morris

    Great photos of suburbia – I also like the bike the best but the one that I think personifies suburbia the best is the row of homes with their back view and the dog staring at you… pretty cool Ca’!!

    March 21, 2011 at 7:18 pm

  3. Lucy

    Awesome pictures. I also love the one with the dog plus the airplane ones!

    March 22, 2011 at 9:38 am

  4. Aryn

    I concur…love the bike pic. I also like the traffic sign with an empty road. The pic of the dog reminds me of the burbs in MD. I remember him crying when it was freezing outside.

    March 23, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

