My shoddy attempt at Dave Hill’s Style with pleasant results

I’m a voracious reader of photography blogs. A post I read on one of these sites discussed how to get that Dave Hill “look” in Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS5. I followed the instructions but somehow failed. Despite this, I created a preset that allows me to make my pictures quite interesting. I literally named my preset “Shitty Dave Hill Attempt.” I haven’t implemented PS yet but I’m liking the results I’m getting in Lightroom. It must also be mentioned that lighting is everything in photography, obviously, so it’s important to focus on the lighting and composition first before snapping the photo.

After I applied this preset in Lightroom, I softened our bodies, used more clarity to achieve more detail and contrast on the buildings and water, and brightened the highlights of our faces and parts of our hair lines to get the illusion of sunlight tracing our outlines. Poetic shit.

So out of a mistake came something I consider to be a nice effect.

The picture below was taken by the captain of the sailboat (Jerry aka Jerr Bear), using my Nikon D80 with Tiffen polarizer on the lens. I’m on the right, piloting this sweet ass sail boat, while my friend Jason is on the left, casually sipping from his sippy cup. Here we are, talking shit and drinking wine. Very Long Island of us.

Check out the before and after:

BEFORE. Nothing at all done to it. Just a RAW image converted into JPG.

AFTER. Settings above have been applied to RAW image and then converted into JPG. A bit more stylized. A bit more work but a much more “artistic” appearance than the previous shot.

2 responses

  1. Cappy

    I can’t believe it has taken me this long to respond to this pic. I’ve looked at it so many times and never realized I was behind the cam. You really know how to turn the ordinary into an extraordinary piece of work. You better cut Cappy a deal on the print!

    April 29, 2011 at 12:06 am

  2. carlosdetres

    Ay Cappy, but of course, me laddie. This one needs more work. I don’t like the oversaturated highlights nor the messy softening job I did on it. This one was just for demonstration.

    April 29, 2011 at 7:46 am

Leave a Reply

