Impermanence

This image is composed of 9 pictures I took today on the way to Sarasota from Miami. I applied some dodge and burning to really ramp up the volume on the contrast. This motha will soon be on sale as an 8×10 (or larger so you can see all of the crazy detail). Look for it in the next couple weeks. It’s going into a collection I’ve been putting together, which comprises haunting imagery of landscapes that once existed in abundance.

I lived in Miami from high school through college. As a young kid, I also spent summers visiting my paternal family in Kendall (a burb within Miami-Dade County) back when I lived in Orlando with my mom. I remember seeing billows of smoke drift into the sky as developers carved pieces of suburbia from the Everglades. My parents divorced when I was four around the time I first started noticing the burning plots of land. These images of fire and fighting and destruction instilled in me a sense of impermanence of what should remain most sacred and beautiful — love and our relationship to nature, which entwine and reflect our humanity outward. It’s about witnessing ghosts and my unbiased telling of the aftermath.

Some of these mentioned images are already in my Scenery category, but will be included in this separate collection soon to be available.

This picture is meant to be enlarged but I shrunk for the purpose of this post.

2 responses

  1. Good writing, maybe im more intrested in other posts liek this, can someone post links if they know? Thanks!

    January 27, 2011 at 11:12 am

  2. carlosdetres

    Hi and thanks. They’re all over the “Diary” section of this site. You can also go to thewhiskeydregs.com.

    January 27, 2011 at 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

